Meters

Status
Not open for further replies.

cschmid

I am looking at buying a new meter and have narrowed it down to a couple of meters. one is a fluke 117 and the other is a 289. I am open to other suggestions. I work with a lot of control circuits and need accuracy on smaller voltages. anyone used these meters and have any good data on similar meters.

76nemo

What exactly are you looking for in your new meter? How extensive do you need it to be as far as different functions? The 117 and 289 are night and day. If money is of no virtue, what exactly do you specifically need?

gar

Occupation
EE
090212-1210 EST

I have no experience with either. Based on specifications and functions and if money was not a factor, then I would choose the 289.

A separate question is what is the difference between the 287 and 289. I did not print out the specifications and compare them. A quick look and I did not see the difference.

Find one and play with it. That is the best means of evaluation for your needs.

jdsmith

090212-1210 EST

I have no experience with either. Based on specifications and functions and if money was not a factor, then I would choose the 289.

A separate question is what is the difference between the 287 and 289.

One feature that the 289 has and the 287 doesn't is a low input impedance voltage mode - useful for investigating those phantom voltages.