microinverters vs optimizers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Solar_OR

I am wondering if anyone is seeing a shift towards one or the other these days? I figure Rapid Shutdown is going to cause for a push. I have used Solaredge and Enphase in the past. I had fairly good experience with both. And am curious to see how the new Enphase system rolls out and their battery. Does anyone have experience using APsystems? The initial cost seems to be cheaper than Enphase and I like the idea of installing fewer inverters. But I have never used them before so I am not sure on ease of use. Reliability? Customer service?

Any feedback is greatly appreciated. I would love to hear some real world considerations.

Thanks!

SolarPro

We decided this was worthy of a SolarPro article:

Integrator Perspectives on Module-Level Power Electronics

It is super interesting to see how much a Code changes can change the market for solar power electronics. While there are early adopters for MLPE in every market, as soon as the 2014 Code get adopted, companies that only used MLPE selectively, if at all, can pivot away from string inverters almost over night. Our 2015 article captured some of this. I saw it first hand here in Austin a few months later.

Back when we published this MLPE article, APSystems probably wasn't on a lot of people's radar. Their market share is definitely increasing. For the most part, it seems like SolarEdge has benefitted the most from rapid shutdown enforcement, at least in terms of a % market share increase.

Solar_OR