motor blown

Status
Not open for further replies.

recore

Hello,
My brother in law asked me to move a 3 phase switch for a saw dust vacume at his factory. Im an electrician but I dont have much experiance with motors. I said no problem (how hard could it be, its just a switch) Well now the motor does not work anymore. I dont know what happened. its a 3 phase motor. He has a high leg in his panel, maybe I mixed them up and this is the problem. Honestly im clueless. Also, after that one burned up I put in a rec for a single phase vacume he had laying around (I made sure not to use the high (208v) leg, but this one seemed to burn up too. I did not connect the ground thinking that the box would ground it, could this be the problem? This situation is turning into a nightmare can someone please shed some light on this situation.

bphgravity

Re: motor blown

I think it may be advisable for you to get a more qualified and trained electrician for the work being performed. You are doing an aweful lot of supposing, which is not the best mindset when installing electrical systems.

This is not meant to offend you or call into question your qualifications. I consider myself a very qualified and trained electrician, yet I am completely aware of the particular installations I have not obtained the adequate education and experience for.

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer

I have to agree. We all have our limitations.