Motor feeder calculation

Status
Not open for further replies.

kware

I am an apprentice hoping to gain an understanding of motor calculations, the question I am working on is this.

"What is the minimum size inverse time breaker needed to protect a feeder with "TW" insulation supplying two 1hp single-phase 115V motors?"

This is what I have come up with so far:

1. FLC = 16A (Table 430.148)

2. Overload heater sized at:
16A x 1.15% = 18.4A rated heater 430.32 (B,1)

3. Branch circuit wire size:
16A x 1.25 = 20A # 14 TW Table 316.10

4. Branch circuit OCP:
16A x 2.50 = 40A ocp 430.52, Table 430.52

5. Feeder wire size:
16A x 1.25 = 20A + 16A = 36A # 8 TW 430.24, Table 310.16

This is where I lose my train of thought. Is this method correct?

6. Feeder OCP (using inverse time breakers):
16A x 2.50 = 40A + 16A = 56A but this is a motor feeder so I need to down size to a 50A ocp??? 430.62, 240.4 (G)

Is the math in step six the correct method? Any help would be great.

Thank,
Kevin

iwire

Staff member
Re: Motor feeder calculation

First I want to ask where you got your figure of 16 A for the overload heater, that figure should not be from the tables.

As to your question, your method for number 6 looks correct.

Read this for the answer as to round up or down.

Part of 430.62
shall be provided with a protective device having a rating or setting not greater than the largest rating or setting

kware

Thank you Mr. Baker and Mr. Badger, To answer the questions:

For Mr. Baker, there are two 1hp 115V single-phase motors.

For Mr. Badger, I got the 16A figure from the motor tables only because no name plate information was given in the question. Yes sir I am aware of 430.6(A)(2)

Thanks guys, the help I recieve here is worth allot....

bob

Your math looks Correct. You said
"6. Feeder OCP (using inverse time breakers):
16A x 2.50 = 40A + 16A = 56A but this is a motor feeder so I need to down size to a 50A ocp??? 430.62, 240.4 (G) "