Multiple disconnects: does it matter where a motor is locked out?

Status
Not open for further replies.

vasectomy7

New User
Occupation
Maintenance electrician
[I'm just an apprentice so I apologize in advance if I sound like an idiot]

I work as an in-house electrician at an industrial facility; I have been told several times by the senior electrician that whenever a lockout-tagout is done, we are required to use the M.C.C. bucket for that purpose. He says it is never acceptable to just lockout at the "local disconnect," right at the particular motor / machine. Is that an official rule in the NEC or 70e?

The most I can find is
NFPA 70e Article 120.4 (B) (11) (1) "Lockout shall be defined as installing a lockout device on all sources of hazardous energy such that operating of the disconnecting means is prohibited. The tagout device shall be installed in the same position available for the lockout device"

Scenario: The drive chain on a screw conveyor has come loose, it needs to be inspected and retightened. Before starting work, which disconnect should be locked?

This is the circuit:
GRID POWER ----> Main 4160v transformer with disconnect ------> 480v M.C.C. bucket with disconnect -----> PLC contactor with manually tripable overload -----> Local disconnect, 10' from the motor -----> Motor

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
If you are working on the motor I don't see why the "local" disconnect wouldn't be enough to be locked. In fact, I would want the disconnect that is within sight of where I am working.

Now if the local disconnect is not within sight of where you are working it may be wise to add another lockout at the source but I don't know if that is required.... It may be an inhouse rule

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician