NEC 2020 implementation of a service disconnect for 1200 amp service

Status
Not open for further replies.

TXnewB

Occupation
Contractor
Newbie here.

City has adopted NEC 2020. We're installing a 1200 amp service for a company located in a building with multiple tenants. Transformer, tapcan and meter are 200 feet from main panel and outside (we're in Texas).

City inspector came over and didn't like what he saw:
1- service disconnect at meter will require GFI protection per 2020 NEC 230 .95
-- Customer has GFEP protection in his switchboard. This entire 1200 amp service does not branch before it hits that switchboard, even though there's an additional disconnect when it comes inside his facility.
--- The only disconnects with GFEP I've seen for this size of service are unfused molded circuit breakers, I've always thought it has to be fusible for the service disconnect.

2. Conductors ran through the building must be fused NEC 230 .3
--
Conductors coming from service disconnect are load side, so they're feeders. How does this apply?
--- If the conductors must indeed be fused, how do I marry the need for GFEP protection at the service disconnect with the need for a fused service disconnect?

I'm at a loss to understand the new 2020 code and the customer is losing his mind. Any input and help is much appreciated.

Thanks,
Confused Texan

jap

Occupation
Electrician
I may not be understanding this correctly, but, if there is a service disconnect outside, and, this is a 480v service at 1000 amps or above, the Ground Fault requirement comes into play at the first overcurrent protection device wherever that may be.

And not GFEP, GFCI protection.

JAP>

jap

Occupation
Electrician
Well I didn't catch in time to edit the GFEP, GFCI part.

JAP>

jim dungar

Staff member
Occupation
PE (Retired) - Power Systems
Service equipment is not required to be fused, circuit breakers are acceptable.