Nec 314.27 (a)(1)

Status
Not open for further replies.

erickench

Hi guys, I'm preparing a new proposal for the above NEC section. There seem's to be a problem with the language. The present 2011 NEC state's the following:

Boxes used at luminaires or lampholder outlets in a wall shall be marked on the interior of the box to indicate the maximum weight of the luminaire that is permitted to be supported by the box in the wall, if other than 23 kg (50 lb).

The problem is the word "other" used in this NEC section. "Other" implies that the permitted weight of the box could be less than or greater than 50 lbs. What I need to know is what is the present practice of the manufacturers? Do they mark the box if it can hold more than 50 lbs or less? I'm an engineer not an electrician. I nor the CMP expects the manufacturers to change their practices on account of any proposal that I make.

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
The following is from the UL GuideInfo Metallic Outlet Boxes
A box, with or without a bracket or bar hanger, intended for support of a fixture weighing 50 lbs or less is marked "FOR FIXTURE SUPPORT" on the carton to indicate that the box is intended for fixture support. A box, with or without a bracket or bar hanger, intended for support of a fixture weighing more than 50 lbs is marked with the weight of the fixture to be supported. Metallic device boxes and device plaster rings have not been investigated for support of a ceiling fixture unless marked for use in ceilings, walls, and with the weight of the product to be supported. Metallic device boxes or metallic device boxes intended to be installed in an existing structure have been investigated for the support of fixtures, smoke detectors and carbon monoxide detectors weighing not more than 6 lbs.

gndrod

fan support

fan support