NEC encasing conduit in concrete

EETESLAEE

Occupation
Engineer
Hi!

I have a service that terminates in a SEB in NYC. I am planning to tap the SEB and run it to a new CT/Disconnect.
I have an electrician saying that the feeder needs to be encased in concrete. I have not seen this ever done.
If this is needed, what code section covers this? I did my research but couldn't find much.

Thank you!

Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
I don’t know the acronym SEB, but I did a job in Boston where the service came into the basement of the building into a 24x24 we referred to a Tap can. From there it was piped across the basement and up into a disconnect by the front door. Since the wire was unfused inside the basement and there was access for the tenants, the inspector had us encase the conduit in concrete through the basement. I don’t have a code reference, I was an apprentice at the time so I guess this anecdotal more than anything, but it was done there so it wouldn’t surprise me if some local code requires it.

Strathead

Occupation
Electrician/Estimator/Project Manager/Superintendent
Hi!

I have a service that terminates in a SEB in NYC. I am planning to tap the SEB and run it to a new CT/Disconnect.
I have an electrician saying that the feeder needs to be encased in concrete. I have not seen this ever done.
If this is needed, what code section covers this? I did my research but couldn't find much.

Thank you!
Is this inside or outside?

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer