NEC Wire type requirments for 4-20mA analog circuits

Status
Not open for further replies.

DM2-Inc

My apologies for my ignorance, but my background is with NEC Article 760.

I'm trying to identify where in the NEC would I find the requirements for the cable used for Analog circuits such as might be tied to a PLC. I'm thinking 300 Volt insulation is acceptable, but where should I look for the code reference.

DM2-Inc

School at Midnight...."No Class"

School at Midnight...."No Class"

That's what I'm doing at the moment but I'm still a little confused.

The power supply we're using has a 24 Volt, 75 Amp rated output. The input is 208 with a 14.5 amp draw. Based on 725.41(A), I'm guessing the power supply isn't a Class 1 power supply (24 Volts x 75 Amps = 1,800 VA), right?

The power supply I'm using is listed to UL 1012 which is titled "Power Units Other Than Class 2". The UL Standard for Class 2 power supplies is UL 1310. Since it isn't Class 1 by definition of it's VA's, and it doesn't appear to be "Class 2". It must be Class 3...right?

A look at Table 11(B) in Chapter 9 doesn't seem to fit since the incoming power ("Source Voltage) is greater than 150 Volts, or is the term "Source" intended to be the output of the power supply?

When the system looses AC voltage it is then powered from the batteries, which according to 725.121(A)(5) is defined as a Class 2 power source.

Am I generally correct in saying that Class 1 circuits require 600 Volt insulation, where as Class 2 or 3 may permit 300 Volt Insulation.

Someone posted an article from http://ecmweb.com/mag/electric_making_sense_necs/ from ECM Magazine titled "Making Sense of the NEC's Rules on Industrial Controls" which dates back to 2003. Under "Point's to Remember" the first paragraph hints;
"...If the circuit is an instrumentation circuit and meets the requirements of Art. 727.5, you can use ITC (300V insulation)."