NECA Installation Standards

Status
Not open for further replies.

kingpb

Occupation
Engineer, Registered
I'm interested to see peoples opinion on why it is that Engineers feel it is necessary to load specifcations and drawings with installation requirements, when NECA already covers many of the equipment installations types, and rather well at that.

For some reason engineers think they, in general, know more about installation then the Contractor, when in most, not all, but most cases it is the opposite.

I will appreciate everyone's kind and thoughtful comments.:rolleyes:

jtester

As an engineer, I regularly "load" my specifications with installation requirements for a number of reasons. Many contractors can't or don't or won't refer to NECA. Many will argue with me that they don't have to do "it" if the requirement is not spelled out in my specifications, and even if they know how, they won't follow NECA unless specifically a part of the contract documents.

I don't think it is a matter of engineers thinking that they know more than electricians, but that engineers are used to installers cutting corners on bid jobs when the requirements are not pretty clear.

Jim T

ryan_618

What happens when the engineer doesn't agree with NECA? The document referenced in 110.12 is from NECA, and I disagree with a lot of it. If I were designing, I wouldn't refer to it, even though I repect the men who wrote it.

steve66

Occupation
Engineer
Our specifications refer to NECA installation standards, but I must admit, I have never seen the NECA standards.

But most of the contractors I have seen care about doing quality work.

I think the "NECA" standards and the other things I put in the specs. helps level the playing field. It keeps other contractors from getting the low bid by doing sloppy work.

Steve

bkludecke

Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor