Learn the NEC with Mike Holt now!

3rd Party or NECA manual

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

Clint623

Occupation
Owner
Who uses what? I'm new to bidding small commercial jobs and it gets overwhelming at times as far as estimating how much time should be used to do a certain task. Does anyone trust 3rd party estimators? In the beginning of being a business owner I would get about a dozen emails/calls a day and I didn't have any use for them because all my jobs were T&M and small. Now that I'm trying to expand, I'm starting to get bid invites for smaller commercial jobs and not sure on how to estimate time for a future journeyman and helper to help complete the job.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
My observation is that even past history is no guarantee of an accurate estimate of what it will take to build something. People have different skill levels, and the foreman running the job often makes a big difference. Some of those guys are really good and some are pretty mediocre.

Put a good Foreman with a good crew and you can really make money. Put a mediocre foreman with a mediocre crew and you'll be lucky to break even.

Jobs that are too small to have a foreman are hard to call because you don't know how motivated the worker bees are going to be. Plus a lot of times the administrative stuff like making sure parts show up is a little overwhelming to the worker bees because they aren't used to dealing with it and don't know how to do so effectively.

Sometimes the job site can be a big factor in how efficient the employees end up being.

GarryHartwick

Occupation
Retired Estimator/Project Manager/Design Build