Need some help from the Resi guys.

Status
Not open for further replies.

kwired

Electron manager
I will say that these houses were incredibly well built. When we had our bathroom apart all of the original rough edge redwood framing was still true and perfect. You can see below the hack work and then the original framing.

d1BZDMmb.jpg

G6kYUZ4b.jpg

y3CyY2Gb.jpg
Go back to lathe and plaster days and things aren't always true/square. But lathe and plaster didn't matter so much as it was forgiving compared to sheet goods on this kind of thing. Exterior sheathing wasn't ever sheet goods either.

kenman215

Hello all,
I need some help with rewiring my house. I have a plan and I wanted to run it buy the resi guys here. My background is all commercial, industrial, and government work. I've worked with MC cable a hand full of times and I've never touched romex so when it comes to residential work I'm out of my comfort zone. We're planning on expanding our house soon but I need to rewire it before we do that. Our house was built in 1954 and we still have the original knob and tube with the original 30A service. We have a total of 10 receptacles in our house. Another issue of a 1950s house is no insulation in the walls. My plan is to upgrade our service to a 225A service with a 42 Circuit panel. My plan is to go room by room and tear out all of the rock and upgrade one room at a time. Since I'll have a 42 circuit panel I can run a dedicated circuit to each room and not have to worry about space in the panel. This will allow me to do it at my own pace, not have to worry about cut in boxes and fishing romex down finished walls. This is probably overkill but I think it's a solid plan. Is there anything I'm overlooking or potential problems I can run into doing it this way?