Neutral current on a metal plumbing piping system

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bro8898

Occupation
Master Plumber
Hey guys. I’m a plumber and have posted here before. Again, I’ve got a question about neutral current on a metal plumbing piping system. It was explained to me very well in a previous thread how this can occur.

Could anyone inform me on how I will know if there’s neutral current on a metal piping system? Why won’t I get shocked if I just touch the pipe but it’s only when I open the pipe up and have one hand touching each end then I can be shocked? I would like to know ahead of time (if possible) how I can tell if there’s neutral current on the pipe before opening it up to make a repair.

Thanks in advance for any help and feedback. You’ve all been very helpful in the past and I appreciate it very much.

jaggedben

Occupation
Solar and Energy Storage Installer
You won't get shocked unless you touch the pipe and something else that has a voltage to the pipe at the same time. However if the pipe is carrying most or all of the current from some electrical circuit, you'll get an electrical arc if you make or break that connection. Also while the pipe is intact, even if there's current flowing on it, one part of the pipe cannot have a voltage to another part within reach. However, once you take it apart, the two separated pieces could now have a voltage to each other that can shock you if your touching both pieces or arc when reconnected. A dangerous voltage difference can only really between two disconnected metal parts (at least for your purposes), or between an ungrounded part and the earth.

Hope that helps with the theory.

I can't think of a simple-to-explain easy way to be absolutely sure a pipe is safe to cut but here are some high percentage plays.