new ec needs help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

jonzlab

Hello everybody!
I'm a brand new electrical contractor in the Colorado Springs/ Denver area. First of all, I really enjoy doing new residential work but I'm not sure how to bid it. I've heard people say $30 an opening, and I've heard that it's so much $ per square foot. Second, is the trim bid by itself, and what are good prices for that. Thanks for help.

jon

jimwalker

Re: new ec needs help!

Trim and rough need priced together.Very few EC will even touch a house some other company started.Per item or opening is only safe way.Keep in mind you cant do 3 ways or 4 ways for same price as a single pole.

mro

Greetings from O.E.llc
I would like someone to tell me what they think of this idea for bidding per opening of a single outlet.
Per Opening:
Wire 14-2= .27 per foot * 16 feet (code rule)=$4.32
Standard Recept: about .50 per
Standard outlet Plate s.g. =$1.00
Tax = 8% (pretend) (0.4656)$6.2856
Markup: (50% = 3.1428 (because I forgot my box and staples.
Total Materials w/ tax: $9.42
I charge $65.00 per hour (northern Colo)
It would take me about 15 min's to install 1 outlet. =$16.25 per 15 mins
$16.25 + 9.42 =$25.67
This is the lowest I would want to go, but I think $30.00 per opening would be competitive.
I am open to everyone's thoughts and critisizm (spelling is off) Thanks!
MrO' :D

[ February 13, 2005, 10:28 PM: Message edited by: mro ]

shakyt

Mro,