New electrical box low voltage ceiling device mount

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a 20 year veteran of the commercial fire alarm industry. I have also been involved in the installation of other low voltage systems such as security, access control, sound, intercom, nurse-call, etc... I have served as a field installer, project manager & service manager over the years. I am currently an operations manager of a privately owned life safety company. I have recently been shown a new product that an old friend of mine has designed, patented and manufactured. I am seriously considering using them. I have done research in NEC, NFPA, UBC, IBC etc... and cannot find a definitive reason that this product cannot be used. I can see where some may make loose interpretations which could go either way. Of course there's always the possibility of job specs being written which could rule them out on isolated projects. I would like to get others opinions in the industry on this. This product is an electrical box ceiling device mount for use in suspended lay-in and sheetrock ceilings. I will describe as best I can. It is made 100% from galvanized steel. For each device installation there are 2 supports that firmly clip to the underside of two opposing walls of an electrical back box. The two supports span across the distance of a 2' X 2' lay-in ceiling grid and rest on the inside edges of the ceiling grid "T" in four locations. This creates four points of support for the device which evenly distributes the weight across the 2' X 2' grid area. It does not "clip" onto the top of the grid "T" in two locations as the others do.

Here are the pros I see to this mounting hardware:

It is made in USA.

It is much faster to install than the others out there which saves ME labor cost/money!!!

It gives the back-box setup a lower profile since it does not attach to the top of the box. (Good for tight ceilings/obstructions, ducts, pipes, etc...)