NFPA "Interests"

Status
Not open for further replies.

rbalex

Staff member
Occupation
Professional Electrical Engineer
I?ve posted in this section because the issue isn?t NEC specific and there?s no ?General? section. (And I'm an engineer) I?ve been in this forum long enough that I value the opinions and insights of its regular contributors ? whether I always agree with them or not.

I?ve been mulling this over for some time now (nearly eight years, actually) and I?ll readily admit I have an agenda. To properly discuss the issue I have in mind, it?s necessary to be familiar with the NFPA GUIDELINES TO CLASSIFICATION OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS It?s less than a page long and fairly easy to understand. Make sure you read the ?NOTES? carefully too; especially NOTE 3.

I believe the definition of ?User? is so broad it applies to all other ?Classifications? with the possible exception of ?Consumer? ? even ?Special Experts? although they are supposedly excluded by definition.

What do you think?

I?ll let the discussion stew a few days or so, before I get to my ultimate point.

ron

Re: NFPA "Interests"

Sounds fair that they would want to classify participants in some manner to help afford diversity in the committee.

I'm interested in where you are going on this, as I have just applied to be part of the 70E technical committee. I do not recall if I listed (or there was a place to list) a classification for myself, although now I guess I would be a user.

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer

I am an engineer, and my role is design and construction support. I don't consider myself a "special expert," so "User" is the only classification that could apply to me. I can't think of an occupation within our industry, other than my own, that would not fall into one of the "obvious" categories (i.e., manufacturer, installer, enforcing authority, etc.). So I have to wonder whether you and I, and our ilk, are the intended members of the classification "user."