nm cable wiring methods

Status
Not open for further replies.

madmark

hello to all. new to this site, but tend to lurk more around the hvac related ones. I think these type of forums are one of the most useful on the web & in the industries. that being said... a question. was an electrician on L.I. for a few years many years ago. now I have been drafted to help my brother wire out his extension. I am unamiliar with these clips that attach to the beams to keep the nm cable "floating" in the beam space rather than stapled to the beams themselves. when are they to be used? can you staple two cables under on staple or are these always used with more than one cable? I know it sounds like a complete noob question but I am not sure. thank you in advance for any help given.

luke warmwater

Re: nm cable wiring methods

OK, well this I guess is borderline DIY question, but I'll give you benefit of doubt. But I could be over-ruled by a moderator.

First off, the securing and supporting of Type NM is 334.30

Next you'll have to look at 300.4(A)(1). That tells you about the 1 1/4" set-back and the use of nail plates.

3M and GB are two of the manufacturers that make the stand-offs.
One I believe is called 'stack-its' or something like that.

We've had plenty of discussion on them before, I'd sugest doing a search on the forum.

celtic

Originally posted by madmark:
I am unamiliar with these clips that attach to the beams to keep the nm cable "floating" in the beam space rather than stapled to the beams themselves. when are they to be used? can you staple two cables under on staple or are these always used with more than one cable?
2 cables under 1 staple would be "ok" - generally in an outlet location...once you start getting into lighting, the "norm" is 3+ cables out of the box.

Using the 3M stacker is relatively self explanatory and gives a good-looking finished product
mediawebserver.dyn

3M Stacker <~~~ 3M Website Link