Per Unit System Confusion...

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am studying for the PE exam and I am constantly confused by the per unit system. Specifically, when it comes to using it to model 3-phase balanced loads.

I tried to break it down by trying to model the simplest 3-phase system I could think of. So, let me know where my thinking goes wrong:

You got a simple 480V balanced 3-phase system with one three phase balanced load on it that is 480VA.

The current is pretty easy to find: I = S / (sqrt(3) * V)

I = 480 / (sqrt(3) * 480) = 1 / sqrt(3) Amps

Now, I tried converting this system to per units. I picked the following obvious base values: Vbase = 480V, Sbase = 480VA

So, now my voltage source is 1 pu and my load is 1 pu.

And then I tried finding the current for this system in per units and that's where I ran into my problem.

I thought I could use the same equation as I did above: I = S / (sqrt(3) * V) with the per unit values. But that would give me I = 1/sqrt(3) pu.

The problem is when I convert that per unit value to amps I do not get the current value I found above: 1 / sqrt(3) Amps.

This is because Ibase = Vbase / (sqrt(3) * VAbase) = 1 / sqrt(3) A

And then to convert...

I = Ibase * Ipu = 1/sqrt(3) A * 1/sqrt(3) pu = 1/3 A!!!

So, that's obviously wrong. The only way it would work is I just find the current value by doing: I = S / V once I find the per unit values.

But that would mean that after I find a per unit model of my 3 phase balanced system, I treat it as if it is a single phase system. And I guess that's my big conclusion from doing all this. Am I correct?

Sorry, for the length. Hope someone could follow through all this.

Thanks!

dkarst