PF capacitors and VFDs

Status
Not open for further replies.

cvirgil467

Harmonics from VFDs can damage pf capacitors.

Lets say i have a motor control center with a bunch of 3 phase motors. Some motors have VFDs while others do not. Since there is no neutral conductor installed to the motors, how do harmonics travel to the PF capacitor the capacitor and damage the capacitor? Assume PF capacitors are insatlled on the load side of the motor starter.

It seems to me that the PF capacitors will cause more problems than solve them when installed with individual motors or a group of motors with VFDs.

pwhite

Re: PF capacitors and VFDs

while i'm no expert, i called my loacal Ab rep and here's how i understand vfd's.

vfd's as you know change the frequency of the power being fed to the motor. all motors connected to vfd's should be rated for vfd use, otherwise, they will run hotter and the wiring insulation could fail.

an ac vfd has 2 main functions, #1 is to convert the incomming power (460 volts 3 phase for example) to dc. the second part of the vfd converts this dc power into a pulse width modulation waveform or pwm (dc power). this dc pulse width modulated waveform then powers the motor.

because this is dc power, part of this waveform is reflected back to the inverter. the amount of power reflected back to the inverter is dependent on factors such as motor horsepower, distance from vfd to motor, wire size, wiring insulation, and others.

all vfd manufacturers recommend a load reactor be placed between the vfd and motor. this is especially true when these variables come into play.

without this load reactor, the reflected waveform will travel through the vfd and into other powered items. please see your vfs manufacturer for recommendations.

jtb