PLC Programmers! Recommendations

Status
Not open for further replies.

ElectricMatt

I am an electrician that does mostly industrial and industrial control work. I have a good understanding of control systems and a limited understanding of PLCs.

I have done a little, very light, PLC programming. However, I would like to move into more PLC design and programming then electrical work.

I have found several different curriculums out there, and I do not want to waste my money on programs that are half baked. I would like any recommendations on how to expand my knowledge further on this subject please.

Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

gar

Occupation
EE
190131-2202 EST

Buy a simple PLC, study the manual, and play.

Basically you need to understamd logic. and the rules for the particular PLC.

Find out what AND, OR, NOR, NOT, NAND. XOR, and timers are and do.

NE (9.06 miles @5.9 Degrees from Winged Horses)
Occupation
EC - retired
I agree with Gar. Buy something and jump in. I started with ABs MicroLogix 1000 because that was well represented in the area. Sales and Tech school. Nothing was free from them and full retail pricing. Ouch. Support is excellent and should be for the money spent.

I found low end units from an online supply house that perform very well at low cost plus the programming is at no additional cost. Same with the HMIs. Buy one of those as well and use it as your test stand I/O.

Coppersmith

Occupation
Electrical Contractor
I did a quick search and I see lots of PLC simulator references. A simulator is a software representation of the PLC and may save you from having to buy actual hardware at least initially. I would check that out first.

ElectricMatt

That’s what I thought. Are there any resources that you would recommend to help learn the structure and functions.

Thank you for you’re recommendations by the way. It is much appreciated.

ElectricMatt