PM/EST Salaries+

Status
Not open for further replies.

ITO

petersonra said:
I would have expected a quality PM to want close to 6 figures most anywhere, someplaces a fair amount more. But a guy with only a few years experience, and no degree might not be worth quite so much. Even so, $40k seems pretty cheap.

A degree does not mean nearly as much as experience, and the ones who demand top dollar are not always worth it. Just my two cents but my best PMs have all had time in the trade.

DAWGS

gregorsc said:
acwservices: Yes I was in the field before I became a PM/EST.I went thru a (4)yr apprenticeship and spent about (3) yrs after school as a foreman.I am also an instructor for our local apprenticeship.

petersonra:The fuel card pays for all of my fuel expenses to and from work as well as any company related driving.
I have always felt that my base salary was a little low. I also felt the cost of my fuel was part of my compensation. At today's prices my fuel cost to and from work is about $150 per week.
The owner and I are trying to come to an agreement on how to restructure my "contract". I have a good tract record on my projects I have estimated and I project manage all of the jobs I estimate and some for our "senior" estimator. That along with the 3 years I have been doing this I am trying to find out what would be fair compensation for what I do.

I have thought about proposing to the owner that I make a base salary comparable to what my web searches have found plus a per mile compensation for job related uses.

Maybe that salary was fine while you were learning, but now with the experience and a good tract record you should be making much more. I would say at least around $60,000 plus benefits, plus company truck with gas card, and you should also be on a bonus program. I would check around and see what you could get with other company's.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
ITO said: