Portable Generator connected to Main service panel

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rob S

New User
Occupation
Controls programer
Hello, My questions are related to connecting a portable generator to my main service panel. I want to make clear that even though I do have some electrical knowledge, I am not a qualified electrician and do NOT plan to do this project myself, but rather will be hiring a qualified electrician to do it for me. However, I would like to purchase everything I need in advance before I contact an electrician, and to mount any devices that I need and then let the electrician hook all the wiring up. I want my system to be sized up to 12,000 watts.

Items I currently have are as follows.............

1) 50 amp 3 prong inlet box to connect the generator to the house.
2) 30 feet of #6/3 wire (w/gnd.) to connect the inlet box to the transfer switch.
3) Mechanical interlock kit for main service panel.

I would like to purcahse a 12,000 watt generator. The generator I have in mind will have a neutral/ground bond with GFI protected 120V outlets, a 30 amp 120v/240v three prong outlet that is not GFI protected, and one heavy duty 50 amp 120v/240v four prong outlet that is also not GFI protected. I understand that code requires that there is NOT more than one neutral/ground bond in the system.

So, my questions are as follows.................