Power strip[ / Surge Protector Life

Status
Not open for further replies.

hockd

Good morning to all. I am an electrical engineer in the telecom side of the house but have been asked by some of our facilities folks as to how one can determine when to replace a power strip / surge protector? Also what type should we be looking to supply in the company. I really don't know othern than the obvious when it quits working or if it has LEDs and they go out it probably needs to be replaced. If it has an overcurrent device if that won't hold or maybe if it has operated a number of times.

Solicitng your input as this has been classified as a Safety issue for us.

Thanking you all in advnce for your help and the great work this forum does.

Dennis Hock
DTE Energy
Detroit, MI

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
Good morning to all. I am an electrical engineer in the telecom side of the house but have been asked by some of our facilities folks as to how one can determine when to replace a power strip / surge protector? Also what type should we be looking to supply in the company. I really don't know othern than the obvious when it quits working or if it has LEDs and they go out it probably needs to be replaced. If it has an overcurrent device if that won't hold or maybe if it has operated a number of times.

Solicitng your input as this has been classified as a Safety issue for us.

Thanking you all in advnce for your help and the great work this forum does.

Dennis Hock
DTE Energy
Detroit, MI

First off, it is not a safety issue at all. It might be an equipment protection issue, but it is not a safety issue.

There are SPD that have indication when they have failed. If it is worth it to them, they can pay extra for them.

Personally, I think they are better off focusing on installing SPD at the service point and at panel boards.