Powering IT Center

Status
Not open for further replies.

judeericn

Guy's I would like to ask if anybody know's the best electrical system for IT Center. Is it a 4 wire -wye grounded or a 5-wire wye grounded?

I really need a technical explanation for this because i dont have any idea pertaining to the electrical system topology for IT Center.

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
By a 5-wire Wye system I'm assuming that you mean a system with an isolated ground. From an installers perspective we haven't installed them in years. Seems that there was a big trend in the 90's to use an isolated ground system for IT equipment. In the past 5 years the IT work that we have done has not had them. A solidly grounded 4-wire Wye system has become the norm. From a design point of view some may feel that the IG system still provides some benefit. Personally I'm not convinced that they are worth the additional cost.

dereckbc

Staff member
Well I design these for a living and the question is easy to answer. You use a 480 volt 4-wire WYE from the utility, terminate the grounded conductor in the entrance switch gear and leave it there. From there every thing is distributed delta 3-wire to transformers or utilization equipment.

tbonse

As a disclaimer, I am going to digress some from your question.