Pricing code inspections (resi / commercial)

Status
Not open for further replies.

six73

Occupation
Electrical Inspector (ICC E-2)
I'm not sure how widespread this practice is, but during the COVID lockdowns my AHJ (Atlanta, GA) and surrounding areas started allowing 3rd party inspections for rough and final inspections and are still doing it. I've met their requirements to do inspections and have been trying to come up with a reasonable pricing model (the GC/electrician/customer pays for it, not the city). Does anyone have any thoughts on calculating numbers for residential and commercial? Industrial would be useful as well, but I don't know how much of that I'll have an opportunity to do right out of the gate. Just to be clear, these would be actual code inspections for new construction, repairs, service upgrades, etc..

Johnhall30

Occupation
Engineer
Louisiana also allows third party. I am a registered third party inspector in my area and I charge 100$ per inspection for typical residential. Commercial also 100$ unless its a large project then the price may go up.

Also for multi family it is a separate fee for each unit.

six73

Occupation
Thanks for that. My gut feeling is that might be a little low for where I'm at, especially for commercial, but I was thinking that flat fee probably made sense until commercial projects reached some point that I haven't quite figured out yet. I also agree about the separate fee for each unit in an MDU, but probably some sort of discount since there's no extra travel involved.

AC\DC

Occupation
EC
Louisiana also allows third party. I am a registered third party inspector in my area and I charge 100$ per inspection for typical residential. Commercial also 100$ unless its a large project then the price may go up.

Also for multi family it is a separate fee for each unit.
Is that a normal rate seems you would make more doing electrical work just curious

hbiss

EC, Westchester, New York NEC: 2014
Occupation
EC