Primary Lightning Strike- Can someone explain whats going on here?

Status
Not open for further replies.

gadfly56

Occupation
Professional Engineer, Fire & Life Safety
I have been a ham radio operator 25 years come this July and I have never heard of such a thing.

Edit to add: NFPA 780, maybe??

"Standard for the
Installation of Lightning
Protection Systems"

RumRunner

Occupation
Retired EE
I've heard that the shortest path to ground is indeed applicable for lightning.

So, saying that, you firmly believe on the old adage that “current takes the path of least resistance”.

This goes for current without regard -- whether that said current is through lightning strike or kitchen appliance.

Is that your position?

synchro

Occupation
EE
Why does no customer load make a lightning strike worse? What do they mean by loop voltage? And what if only line-line connected loads are present at the customer? I'm confused.

Below is my take, for what it's worth, about your questions about Fig. 12.18 in section 12.5.3 of Electric Power Distribution Handbook. The quoted content is from that section.

"Lightning current into the neutral winding of the transformer (usually X2) induces
possibly damaging stresses in the high-voltage winding near the ground and line ends..."
So the author is mainly concerned here about over-voltage damage on the transformer primary that's caused by lightning current entering the neutral terminal of the secondary.

"Currents couple less to the high-voltage winding on transformers with an interlaced secondary winding,
which is used on core-type transformers and some shelltype transformers."
"For a balanced surge (equal in both windings), the inductance provided by the transformer is approximately the hot
leg to hot leg short-circuit reactance. Transformers with interlaced secondaries have significantly lower inductances (see Table 12.10).
Higher transformer inductance induces a higher voltage on the primary-side winding."