Project Class I Division 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Student_UL

Hello all,
I am student and I designing a machine for Class I Division 1 location and have some question regarding the installation and the typical start up procedure of the machine.

Between the motor and the control panel the connections are performed by a RMC with sealing.
After installation the conduit system, it will be checked by a worker in the factory.

• Does this worker need a special authorization or training?
  • Are functional tests after sealing necessary?
  • Is there a requirement that any inspector of an authority have to inspect the conduit system before start up of a machine?

The motor should be controllable by a pendant control which have to be flexible.
Therefore I have to use a flexible cord. The circuit is performed in intrinsically safety technology.
I have read the complete NFPA 70, but I am uncertain in this topic and how I have to perform.
Also I have no practical experience.

• Which type of cord is allowed to use therefore and which components are necessary for connecting this cord (more than 10 conductors) with the control panel?
  • Nearly the same problem I have with a temperature sensor. The sensor is permanent connected with the cable. What I do have to consider for connecting this sensor with the control panel?

Could you please help me in this matter?

Thank you very much!

Student_UL

Attachments

• picture.JPG
    picture.JPG
    39.9 KB · Views: 0

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
As far as your wiring methods for the intrinsically safe circuits most any wiring method is acceptable. Sealing should be addressed at the control panel. (see NEC 504.20)