Proper Grounding of A/V Equipment Racks

Status
Not open for further replies.

crosen

New User
Occupation
Home Technology Integrator
I am an A/V contractor and would like to ensure that I am grounding my equipment racks correctly. In most cases, the equipment racks are not in close proximity to the main panel ground bar. So, I am unsure what the racks should be attached to in order to ensure proper grounding.

It appears that a common practice is simply to connect the rack to AC ground via a grounding screw on the rack's UPS. However, I am unsure if this is adequate.

So, on a new construction project where the A/V rack will not be adjacent to the main panel ground bar, exactly what should I ask the electrician to provide to ensure the rack is properly grounded? In other words, what is the correct wording of the grounding infrastructure that I should request, and what exactly is that infrastructure comprised of?

Much appreciate any thoughts.

Racks are "grounded" for electrical fault protection by the equipment supply leads, no further grounding is needed for that. Signal grounding is a completely different world and most of what "people say" is wrong (but at a glance, the paper jtinge posted looks sensible; you could also look at Bill Whitlock's papers on the subject).

If you want to request a large conductor from the building's Ground Electrode System (GES, the earth grounding system of a building), there's nothing wrong with that if done properly, but in most cases it will add little-to-nothing to how well properly-connected A/V equipment operates.

synchro

Occupation
EE