Proper Use of Device

Status
Not open for further replies.

bphgravity

If a gfci device were installed in a location that gfci protection is not required, should that gfci be required to be connected correctly and operate correctly?

B

bthielen

Re: Proper Use of Device

If you are just asking for personal opinions, my vote is for yes. The fact that the protection afforded by the GFCI is available, it would seem prudent to take advantage of it. I would rather have protection from a GFCI without knowing it rather than to be given a false sense of security to have a GFCI that is not installed to be functional.

I'm curious where you want to take this.

Bob

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer

Interesting questions. The key word in the questions is "should." I think this crosses the line between "code minimum" and "what the owner wants, even if the owner is unaware that that is what the owner wants." Speaking as a design engineer, I would say that I do not want the owner to think that the GFCI protection is available, when it is not. In that, I agree with Bob. But that is a design consideration; the NEC doesn't care (i.e., doesn't have jurisdiction over) how the owner operates anything within the facility, and doesn't care if the owner is happy.

If you saw one that was wired wrong, such that it would provide power to anything plugged into it, but that it would not function in its capacity of protection against ground faults, and if you wanted to cite it as a violation, then I think you could use 110.3(B) as your basis. That is as weak a case as you could ever hope to find, and I think it should not be used as the sole basis for a code-related decision, if there is any other code article that can be cited instead. But I can't think of any other article that would apply here.

jwelectric