Protecting conductors on ground mounted arrays

Status
Not open for further replies.

nosparks1

Any input as to how contractors have been complying with 690.31(A) in the NEC 2008 on the conductors connected between panels on ground mounted arrays to install the conductors in a raceway since in most cases they exceed the 30 volts and the lower panels are definetly readily accessible.

ggunn

PE (Electrical), NABCEP certified
Occupation
Electrical Engineer - Photovoltaic Systems
Any input as to how contractors have been complying with 690.31(A) in the NEC 2008 on the conductors connected between panels on ground mounted arrays to install the conductors in a raceway since in most cases they exceed the 30 volts and the lower panels are definetly readily accessible.
Doesn't building a fence around the array with a locking gate satisfy that requirement?

nosparks1

Thanks for the input, as a local inspector I couldnt see any way other than a fence. Seems that any protection on the conductors would prohibit access to the plug connectors between panels or enclosing the backs would introduce heat issues.

jaggedben

Occupation
Solar and Energy Storage Installer
There's at least one product I've seen that comes with a racking system with integrated wiring inside the racking. It's a frameless panel product, I saw it at a trade show, can't remember the name. Also I think was designed with roof mounting in mind. But, point is, the wiring is not readily accessible, as far as I would judge.

Fundamentally there is no reason that racking systems couldn't be designed that enclose the panel leads and make them not readily accessible, or even actually be listed as a raceway. Such products might add a little bit of cost to racking solutions, but probably less than building fences.

In a lot of places security concerns call for building a fence anyway.

ggunn

PE (Electrical), NABCEP certified
Occupation
Electrical Engineer - Photovoltaic Systems