PV System Around Pool for Low Voltage LED Step Lights

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steve619877

Hello, First post here.

I am wrapping up a pool and deck renovation for a customer in the DFW region. Customer is now requesting I install low voltage deck step lights which will be located less than 5 feet from the pool water. Although I’ve installed many conventional 411.1 low voltage luminaries around pools, I have limited experience with solar, and will sub out this install if we proceed. But want to set proper customer expectations as to whether this is feasible.

Owner desires 12v solar off grid and is requesting this package system setup for this step lighting package.

The Panel:
Maximum Power: 100W Monocrystaline [h=1][/h]
Optimum Operating Voltage (Vmp): 18.9VOpen-Circuit Voltage (Voc): 22.5V
Optimum Operating Current (Imp): 5.29AShort-Circuit Current (Isc): 5.75A

The Charge Controller:

Nominal System Voltage: 12V/24V Auto RecognitionMax Solar Input Voltage: 100 VDC
Rated Battery Current: 20AMounting Oval: 0.30 x 0.18in
Rated Load Current: 20ANet Weight: 3.08 lb.
Max. PV Input Short Current: 25ADischarge circuit voltage drop: ≤ 0.15V
Max. Battery Voltage: 32VOverall Dimension: 8.27 x 5.94 x 2.34 in

Fuse Cable:

Length: 2ftCurrent Rating: 20A
Rating Voltage: AC Uo/U 0.6/1 KV, DC 1.8KVVoltage Rating: 72V
Temperature: -40°F to +194°FInterrupt Capacity: 180A (48V)

The Battery:

• Cells per unit: 6
  • Voltage per unit: 12
  • Capacity: 100Ah at 20-hour-rate to 1.75-Volt per cell at 25°C
  • Maximum discharge current: 1000 Amp (5-second)
  • Normal operating temperature range: 25C5C
  • Float charging voltage: 13.6 to 13.8 VDC/unit average at 25°C
  • Recommended maximum charging current: 20 Amp
  • Container material: A.B.S. UL94-HB

Lights:

4.5 watt 12 volt DC LED lights, 5 total.