Question on isolated grounding?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dennisc

Hello, I am not an electrician and am not doing a job. I am going to school to be a Technician and have a question about something I've read. What exactly is an isolated ground? I've heard of something like a computer or soundboard for example requiring it's own isolated ground. Does this mean that the circuit that one of these components are on would have its own bare ground wire that runs back to the main panel and connects to the grounding bus bar? Or does an isolated ground mean that this circuit would run back to the main panel and stay isolated from the rest of the panel and connect to its own grounding device (like a driven ground rod)?

Thanks Dennis

ibew441dc

Good Question!!

Good Question!!

What exactly is an isolated ground? I've heard of something like a computer or soundboard for example requiring it's own isolated ground. Does this mean that the circuit that one of these components are on would have its own bare ground wire that runs back to the main panel and connects to the grounding bus bar? Or does an isolated ground mean that this circuit would run back to the main panel and stay isolated from the rest of the panel and connect to its own grounding device (like a driven ground rod)?

Thanks Dennis

2008 NEC said: