Quick Grounding Test?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jrsims58

My question is how to quickly test with a multimeter if the systems are properly grounded and/or bonded. Such as the panelboard, A/C sub, the ground at the meter, and pipe bonding. As a home inspector I need to know when to recommend that a licensed electrician evaluate further. It is out of my scope to test for fall of potential. I have had several classes on grounding and bounding to include Mike?s. There has not been any method described in this type of rudimentary form of testing. I am looking for a simple, fast, and SAFE way to perform this test, so I can move on or recommend that a professional be called in.

I figure you guys might throw rocks or pliers at me in a room so this seems to be a safer way of asking. If you know of a website that can help, I have been to a bunch, still with out a layman?s answer. Testing like mentioned in 230.95 requires disconnections to be made and it really is for initial installs. 250.56 provides some of the data I?m looking for but refers me to 250.52(a)(2) through (a)(7) then I left scratching my head. I have had people recommend a megger det20c that cost $1,500.00+. I really need some one to provide a few simple test so I can say yes it is a grounded system or have an electrician take a look as it does not measure up to a minimum standard of some sort.

Do you simply touch a probe to the meter casing and the other to the ground or open the jaws and place around the ground wire at the rod?

Your help would be appreciated.

jrsims58
It is good to see that a HI is trying to do the right thing. I will say that the testing you are trying to perform is not left in simple steps as you are hoping for, as there is no simple procedure. Without the experience of wiring and testing over years, you are likely to make mistakes you are not even aware of. My advice to you is to not test at all, but use your two best tools:
1. your brain
2. your eyes