Receptacles at residential sinks

Status
Not open for further replies.

jpeer

Second try - someone edited my question out of existence. I am a new Inspector. I have 16+ years as a journeyman in commercial construction. Now I am inspecting residential dwellings wired by "technicians". Last Friday I found two receptacles and a switch in the back-splash directly behind the kitchen sink. I suggested that receptacle spacing was off, because NEC requires receptacles on the countertop within two feet of sink and the sink is referred to as a "break" in a countertop. The senior inspector agreed with me, but felt that all that would happen is two more receptacles would be added - the ones over the sink would remain since they were in a cultured marble back-splash. I then suggested that it was a "damp location". Senior inspect said that it didn't match the examples of damp location in article 100. I then found a receptacle directly over the bathroom sink. Senior Inspector did not issue any violations for this inspection. I spent the next hour in the code book and could not find any prohibitions against receptacle placement in a dwelling unit except in showers and over bathtubs. I think a receptacle over a sink is dangerous, even if the GFCI worked 100% of the time (I wouldn't bet my life on that). My wife thinks it stupid - "who would ever us a receptacle over a sink?". Did I miss something in the Code that I can use to stop this or am I just being paranoid? What do you think?

[ July 18, 2004, 10:06 AM: Message edited by: jpeer ]

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
Re: Receptacles at residential sinks

Were you going to ask a question?

Roger

bphgravity

For whatever reason, the code does not prevent receptacle outlets form being installed directly behind sinks or even cooktops / ranges. As you have stated, this could be a potential hazard and probably should be avoided even though not specificaly prohibited by the NEC.