Recessed Lighting use lights as simple design on ceiling

Status
Not open for further replies.

KiloKirb

Occupation
Electrical GC
I'm cool if you think I'm crazy. Has anyone ever layed out recessed light in some type of simple shape or maybe a spiral design. I have been installing recessed lighting since I was 11 years old. It's always been a grid design. I want to do some type of shape or design using different size high hats I think it would make this master bedroom in a mansion look very cool. If I'm crazy just let me know, I can take it.

NE (9.06 miles @5.9 Degrees from Winged Horses)
Occupation
EC - retired
I'm cool if you think I'm crazy. Has anyone ever layed out recessed light in some type of simple shape or maybe a spiral design. I have been installing recessed lighting since I was 11 years old. It's always been a grid design. I want to do some type of shape or design using different size high hats I think it would make this master bedroom in a mansion look very cool. If I'm crazy just let me know, I can take it.
Not crazy, but I'd certainly include the owners in that design.

Welcome to the forum.

KiloKirb

Occupation
Electrical GC
Oh yea definitely. I want to make it into a 3D model or something to that extent so the can get a visual. Thanks for the reply. I have been searching the internet for any photos of examples bit can't find anything.

EeeeVeee

Occupation
Electrical Contractor
Yes, I have done them in a circle often, or in a semi-circle to match something on the ground such as a sunken area of the room or very large and roundish island.

I am always very clear with my customers, there is no right or wrong way to do it, They can put them wherever they want, especially now with the wafer (pancake) LED recessed style lights that fit underneath framing.

Chamuit

Grumpy Old Man
Occupation
Electrician
I have using cans. Difficult part was working around the framing.