Relocating is it possible/difficult?

Status
Not open for further replies.

smileyboy

I live in Colorado and my wife and I are thinking of relocating to Cali. How difficult is it to get a license or be approved for one. What hoops do I need to jump through?
I am a Master Electrician.
Thanks

westernexplorer

Well, California now has a State Journeyman Electrician Certification and it is required to do Electrical work in California. They do not have a Master Electrician License, however if you want to be an electrical contractor, they do have a (C-10) Electrical Contractors license......the exam is electrical and business and law. The State Journeyman Electrician License exam is given by PSI and all you need to do is apply to the State of California with 4 years (8,000 hours ) of trade experience and a copy of your out of State License and $150 and when approved sit for the exam.......

Hope this helps.....

Mule

I would look at the market and verify that its better than where your at...this thing is wide spread....and aint over by a long shot....

dereckbc

Staff member
Yes I would think twice about this. Colorado is is much better shape then California. Even though housing prices have crashed in California, homes are still way more expensive there along with the cost of everything else. California still has a lot of corrections still left to make and that could take a few more years.

BMacky