Replacing Old 3-wire service conductors feeding Fuse Panel

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tinkerer

Occupation
Master Electrician and licensed contractor: mostly retired
I have a customer with a house, built in the 50s who wants to change out her original 100A fuse panel to a breaker panel. The panel is 25 feet from the meter inside the basement. There is no service disconnect at the meter, there are 3 service conductors (ground and neutral combined), and the basement has a popcorn ceiling in good condition which the customer doesn't want to disturb. I know that current code requires me to Install a disconnect by the meter, and replace the service conductors with 2 hots, 1 neutral, and a ground.

My question is this: How do I explain to my customer why the conductors need to be replaced. I am an electrical engineer and a licensed master electrician, and I don't really know what to tell her. Yes, I know that "Why" is a stupid question wherever a bureaucracy is involved. Nevertheless..... In a sense, the ground/neutral wire is just one long bonding connection. The only nasty failure I can imagine is this conductor coming loose at either end, which would electrify the entire house grounding system, but this same situation would happen if the neutral came loose on the service drop, a much more likely situation.

Your comments? I want to get my story straight before going to the AHJ. I know it is legal if I don't touch it.

In case you were wondering, the fuse panel was in great shape, with 11 of the 12 fuses of the wrong value, 11 too high, 1 too low.

Thanks.

Doug

kwired

Electron manager
Do you plan to put a disconnect at/near the meter?