Requirements for power/data cables in a class 1 div 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

jntexan01

Occupation
I.T Field Tech
I have taken over the installation of a computer monitor in a class 1 div 1 area. This monitor is rated for such area. The monitor is powered by 120 volts AC. It has a normal monitor power cable running to a 20 AMP twist lock that I believe is still inside the classified location. The previous tech installed a XP cable gland around the power cord. Is this the proper installation? Also, there are CAT5 cables and a VGA cable running to the monitor installed in the same manner. The CAT5 cables are for USB extension for the mouse and the VGA cable is for the display its self. I am new to this type of install and am uncertain that this is the correct way. I am used to installing electrical conduit with seal offs etc... for power installs and not certain where to reference. Keep in mind this is on an offshore platform so I am not certain if the NEC applies.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
I have taken over the installation of a computer monitor in a class 1 div 1 area. This monitor is rated for such area. The monitor is powered by 120 volts AC. It has a normal monitor power cable running to a 20 AMP twist lock that I believe is still inside the classified location. The previous tech installed a XP cable gland around the power cord. Is this the proper installation? Also, there are CAT5 cables and a VGA cable running to the monitor installed in the same manner. The CAT5 cables are for USB extension for the mouse and the VGA cable is for the display its self. I am new to this type of install and am uncertain that this is the correct way. I am used to installing electrical conduit with seal offs etc... for power installs and not certain where to reference. Keep in mind this is on an offshore platform so I am not certain if the NEC applies.
I don't believe you can use a standard twist-lock receptacle/plug in a C1D1 area.