residential area > flate rate vs hourly rate

Status
Not open for further replies.

jute

I'm in SO CAL, My main customer is a property management company. I have been doing work for them about 6 years and my Dad had been doing work for them aprox 15 to 18 years before he passed away almost 4 years ago. This type of work has always been fairly stead but the problem is that they are my main customer and when they slow down, I slow way down. So I wanted to get more eggs in my basket and last year I started setting up the van for doing more residential and so I could do invoices/quotes in the field. I feel I'm to that stage except for accepting credit cards... (suggestions?) Starting Oct, 1st I'm relocating (about 8mi down the freeway from where I'm currently located) to an area where I think I'd be able to break into residential and generate a good clientale of residential customers in a "high dollar" community. My question is what the best way to do this is...) flat rate with direct mailers saying we are now serving and offer upfront pricing and charge a dispatch/trip fee and ?? My other option is to charge $?? to show up and include first hour and $?? per hour after. I am charging for Service van, jouney man and apprentice. I'd also like to know what some of you are charging for 24hr emergency sevices?? Sliding scale of some sort, depending on time of day/night and distance...Thanks, JB

Buck Parrish

jute said:
I'm in SO CAL, My main customer is a property management