residential service inspections-grounding

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michael Abruzzi

Friends,

I'm an electrical inspector in colorado and have a grounding question regarding service upgrade inspection.

An electrical contractor obtains a permit to change out a residential electrical service. Bonding and grounding are correct at the service power panel however the E.C does not float the neutrals at the down stream sub- panels.

These sub-panels are protected by a main breaker in the service power panel; and are not modified during the upgrade.

This is a two-part question: First I argue that the E.C must float the neutral at the sub-panel, even if it has not been modified and not listed on the electrical permit as part of the scope of the job. secondly, on an older sub-panel with an uninsulated neutral as part of the feeder assembly(3-wires ystem), has the code ever allowed equipment grounds to be terminated on the neutral bar in this type of wiring system?
The answer to this question will resolve a disagreement.

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
First I argue that the E.C must float the neutral at the sub-panel, even if it has not been modified and not listed on the electrical permit as part of the scope of the job.
The so-called ?Grandfather Clause? has been moved to the non-enforceable annex. Take a look at 80.9(B). If you think the existing situation creates an ?imminent danger to occupants,? and by the way I do, then you can require it to be corrected. I would say that it is not the fault of the EC, and the homeowner should not expect the EC to do the job at no cost. But I think it should be done.

Secondly, on an older sub-panel with an uninsulated neutral as part of the feeder assembly(3-wires system), has the code ever allowed equipment grounds to be terminated on the neutral bar in this type of wiring system?