Residential Service Load Calculations using high BTU Mini Split HVAC systems

Status
Not open for further replies.

iustacould

Occupation
Lead Electrical Contractor
Hello and thank you for taking the time to read through and provide input on my ideas and questions!

I am currently refining my single family service load calculation for a home that will be built this summer. I was thrown a curve a few days ago dealing with the HVAC units supplying the entire project. I initially calculated my service load using packaged units (gas), but was advised that the HVAC contractor has now decided to use Mini Splits to condition the entire project. These units have NO heat strips. I am ashamed to say that I have very little experience calculating loads with Mini's and would like some feedback on my numbers. Any help or feedback is greatly appreciated as I plan to eventually have the knowledge base necessary to pay it forward. *** The HVAC contractor has not provided me with the actual nameplate ratings on any units up to this point but gave me a rundown on amps required so I derived the following information through online research***

Mini Split Spec's: (no heat strips)

Two 36K BTU Splits at 230v (requested 50 amps)
One 29K BTU Split at 230v (requested 40 amps)
Two 22K BTU Splits at 230v (requested 30 amps)
One 18K BTU Split at 230v (requested 25 amps)
Two 15K BTU Splits at 230v (requested 20 amps)
Two 9K BTU Splits at 230v (requested 15 amps)

With this information I calculated (generally) my HVAC load at 100% of the AC (Largest of 220.80(C) Optional Method.
Total HVAC Load: 68KVA

Seems fairly steep considering the number of projects i've been a part of as a Journeyman over the years.

Im trying to keep my total load under a 600 amp service (all other calculations are solid) but the HVAC load is driving me up just past this mark. (around 679).

Be gentle please as I know I've included a limited amount of information and more than a normal share of questions.