SE, SER Service and Feeder Ampacity

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have viewed many forums and no one can seem to put this issue to bed. The revised 310.15(B)(7) seemed to try, but there seems to still be the grey area in regard to accessory buildings of a dwelling unit such as garages, pole buildings, pool houses that are FED with FEEDERS from a dwelling unit.

What is the ampacity rating requirement for these conductors in question?? I'm not really interested in what many incompetent inspectors will pass. I want to know what the intent of the code is on this issue.

Although its not common practice in our trade, as an electrician i feel like I should be installing 4/0 copper SER for a 200 amp sub-panel; fed from and through a dwelling; going to a detached structure; based on the 60 degree column in 310.15(B)(16) (4/0 Copper SE/SER rated at 195 amps at 60 degrees) because its not main power feeder, and because of article 338.10. I also wonder if you start under the 60 degree column with the SER under that premise, would you not have to continue that sizing when you converted wiring methods to go underground outside the dwelling going to the same detached structure based on the 60 degree rating even though THHN has a 90 degree rating.

Sierrasparky

Occupation
Electrician ,contractor
Well I see they did get rid of the statement allowed for conductors of feeders need not be larger than service entrance conductors. :?

Well I am in Indiana which is still one of the last states to carve out parts of the NEC related to ARC fault breakers, tamper resistance receptacles etc; but mostly operating under the 2008 code cycle. However, I like to keep up with the codes intent and usually go above and beyond what the code's minimum requirement is if its cost permissive. Most of the AHJs in my area will allow newer code cycle recommendations and newer printed language that clears up any ambiguity.

102 Inspector

Occupation
Inspector- All facets