security cameras

Status
Not open for further replies.

GerryB

My doctor wants cameras at his office, one each corner outside, a fairly long one story building, drop ceiling inside, and two indoor cameras. I have not done any security cameras and would appreciate any info or links. I have seen the kits that come with 100' leads but would rather run my own wire than be short with factory leads. Of course he's cheap, it's a brand new building, I told him call his security company and he said they wanted to much, so I am thinking basic here. Thanks inn advance.

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
Since you're new to this type of installation I would suggest an all in one type system where you buy the cameras, DVR, monitor and everything else in a kit which makes it plug and play. Otherwise the variables for different components, types of cameras, etc. are endless. Although I have no knowledge of the system in the photo this is the type of system I'm suggesting:
security-camera-system-LH118LED24-L1.png

iwire

Staff member
The security company has experience and knows what it costs.

In my opinion you are fighting an uphill battle, if you come up with a price the doctor likes you will either lose money or the doctor will not be happy with the results ... Or both of those will happen due to repeated trips and changes to make it work.

One other issue is your area may require you to be licensed for security work. My state requires an additional license beyond my electrical license.

K8MHZ

Michigan. It's a beautiful peninsula, I've looked
Occupation
Electrician
The security company has experience and knows what it costs.

In my opinion you are fighting an uphill battle, if you come up with a price the doctor likes you will either lose money or the doctor will not be happy with the results ... Or both of those will happen due to repeated trips and changes to make it work.