Selecting right MCB

mehdi1351

Occupation
Electrical Engineer
Hello,
I am new to the electrical world, but I think choosing a 10A rated MCB ( Schneider model: A9F55310) for a motor with 0.16A full load current would be not a good idea?
The story is, I have a motor (0.1KW, PFC=0.85, 3ph 415V) and I guess the Full Load Current ,FLC=(0.1/0.85)/(1.73*0.415) =0.16A and I noticed a MCB with 10A rated current is installed to protect the overcurrent/overload!!
That was a bit wired to me, hence wanted to double check with you guys?

Thanks

Jraef

Moderator, OTD
Staff member
Occupation
Electrical Engineer
I can't speak to your local Codes in NZ, but this is how it might work here.

It is possible that a motor that small is "self protected", meaning it has it's own thermal protection built-in. If it has a Reset button on it, that's a big indicator, but sometimes it just says "Thermally Protected", or even just "TP" on the nameplate. If so, then the MCB would only need to be there to protect the wiring, so as long as the wire is rated for 10A, you would be good to go.

mehdi1351

Occupation
Electrical Engineer
Thanks for the reply. The motor is a small vibrator motor (MVE 100/3E) and nothing on the nameplate!, but in the manual it is mentioned that "
All electric vibrators MUST be connected to a suitable external overload protection. Always use a thermal-magnetic type motor protection, with delayed cut-off, to avoid stopping the motor during start-up when the current draw is higher than the rated running current for a few seconds".
I guess based on the above, the MCB should be set 10-20% of the FLC of the motor with a few seconds delay to avoid unwanted trip during motor start -up. I am right? If this is the case then definitely 10A rated MCB is not protecting the motor, it is only protecting the wires.

Jraef

Moderator, OTD
Staff member
Occupation
Electrical Engineer