Single Family Home Electrical Pricing

Status
Not open for further replies.

wmeek

Occupation
Electrician
I am an Electrical Contractor.I currently just do smaall service type work. I have a set of blueprint for a 2482 sq ft house. these prints were drawn up by an Architect. There has been no electrical calculations done. My Question is how do I go about doing an Load analysis to be with in the NEC.without knowing what fixtures are to be installed . Is there a rule to do this as a bare minimum:confused:

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
Re: Single Family Home Electrical Pricing

Just use article 220 and if your gut feeling tells you you're shy, add say 10 - 15 % overall.
Regardless of what your calculations come out to, you should use a 200A minimum service for this size house in todays world.

Roger

[ July 25, 2003, 11:45 AM: Message edited by: roger ]

rich000

Get with the home buyers and plan out a lighting and power system. Find out things like recess lights, chandeliers, ceiling fans, microwaves, entertainment centers, computer network, etc.

Now is the time to design and make it right. Bring them pictures for examples or take them on model home tours.

I think lighting design is a good profit maker.

jxofaltrds

Inspector Mike®
Occupation
ESI, PI, RBO

I agree with Roger.

Regarding NEC. they do "assume" the min. loads per sf.

You are correct for asking. Start with the minimum and add from there.

Mike P.

charlie tuna

i would figure the house with a 200 amp service and a minimal number of lighting outlets (not fixtures). then i wood figure a unit price for a particular recessed fixture, three ways, extra outlets, data/phone outlets. light fixtures selected by owner will be installed t&m.... you then have a base wiring price and unit pricing for additional work....

mvrandazzo