Single Phase 208v Pump

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
If single phase does not consist of 2 phases and 3 phase consists of 3 phases why is a 208V pump connected to 2 phases of a 3 phase system considered single phase?

kwired

Electron manager
If single phase does not consist of 2 phases and 3 phase consists of 3 phases why is a 208V pump connected to 2 phases of a 3 phase system considered single phase?
Are you a newbie here? This gets asked a lot.;)

There is only one phase angle between the two points of supply (a straight line is 180 degree angle), so the load can't be anything but 208 volts across that 180 degree angle.

Now if you involve those two points as well as the neutral you do get more than just one phase angle and is why it is possible to derive three phase open delta systems with two phases plus neutral of a wye system as the primary side.

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
At 208 volts, 3Ø system has 3 single phases, A-B, A-C, B-C, a 1Ø, 208 volt pump would only use one of the three phases.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Well I am in a discussion on another forum with engineers from over the pond that are arguing this with me. Someone showed a picture of a pump hooked to 2 hot wires and the person asked if it was single phase, 3 phase or 2 phase.

I said single phase and then the argument went on. I think it may be about language differences or perhaps what they consider it. I don't know

Check it out or join and enter the discussion. https://zone4engineer.com/forums/topic/20/3ph-motor/view/page/1

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
A old 2Ø system has the phases 90° apart. That's nothing like our modern 3Ø systems.

Besoeker3

Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
Walking my big handsome collie - where else?
:D
I think he has worked out that I have problems with my vision and sticks close to me. My minder.