Six handle rule

Status
Not open for further replies.

greg furey

Hi all how are you, love the posts.on here. Looking for info on how many breakers can be in a subpanel, if a main breaker is needed , if at all. Some one told me that over six breakers in a subpanel in the same building does not need a main, code reference would be great. 2017 nec c Connecticut finialy adopted.this March 1 2019. Thanks and appreciate all the info on here. I have been a member for a couple of years. I have been an industrial electrician for about 30 years now and still learning take care

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

Hi all how are you, love the posts.on here. Looking for info on how many breakers can be in a subpanel, if a main breaker is needed , if at all. Some one told me that over six breakers in a subpanel in the same building does not need a main, code reference would be great. 2017 nec c Connecticut finialy adopted.this March 1 2019. Thanks and appreciate all the info on here. I have been a member for a couple of years. I have been an industrial electrician for about 30 years now and still learning take care

A subpanel located in the same structure never needs a main breaker, unless you get into more complex situations like using the tap rules, transformers, supplying a small panel board with a large feeder.... 408.36 is your reference for most of those situations

A sub in a detached structure needs a main breaker if there isnt already a disconnecting means (225.31).

Note: a panelboard never actually needs a main breaker, it can be next to/remote from the panelboard, but using a MB is usually the most economical.

Edit: just to be clear, the disconnecting means for a building can consist of 6 or less switches just like a service 225.33

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)