Slang or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mark32

An electrician asked me for a Carlon connector today so I asked if he wanted a male terminal adapter for pvc. "No, it's for Carlon" he stated. Oh, you mean for sealtight, you want a connector for sealtight? "No, for Carlon" again he stated. "Dude I don't know what you are talking about" was my response as I took him over to where the pvc and sealtight stuff is. He then points to a roll of non-metallic sealtight. "That's what I need it for" he said. That's sealtight sir, non metallic sealtight. "No, it's Carlon". I asked him if he went into a supply house and asked for a Carlon fitting, they wouldn't question you? "No", he began, "I'm a union electrician and I know what I need". I am licensed sir and you are busting my balls over trade slang. I then helped him collect a few more items and things were cool after that but I couldn't help wonder what the fuss was about. He knew what I was referring to when I asked if it was for pvc or sealtight.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
Interesting, even though he said carlon connector, for some reason I thought he meant carflex right away. Probably because I read carlon as carflex simply because I never use the term carlon.

He was trying to show how smart he was but obviously failed in his attempt. I see it all the time at our supply company- electricians use the worng terms often.

K8MHZ

Michigan. It's a beautiful peninsula, I've looked
Occupation
Electrician
Well, I have been in the union since '96 and have never heard of a 'Carlon connector'.

If someone asked me for one and copped an attitude, I would simply find any connector made by Carlon, with the word Carlon printed on it, and give it to him.

Slang should only be used when both parties are familiar with it. It changes depending on locale, as well.