Solar Installations

Status
Not open for further replies.

RyanA

I don't remember if it is just local codes, or state wide but starting next month they will be requiring all wiring on solar installations here to be done by a qualified electrician.

I have done the wiring on quite a few installations around here, but I am not technically a qualified electrician for solar.

Can anyone direct me to a good course for qualification that is somewhat close to Wyoming?

donf

"Qualified"

"Qualified"

To the best of my knowledge there are two ways to go about this.

1) Contract with the manufacturer of the equipment to install and service their equipment and take whatever required training they feel you need. Then get certification from them as to your qualifications.

2) Take 2 yrs. of electrical training school either at the Community College level or through an IBEW (International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers) school. Then after the appropriate Apprentice Training, test for a Journeyman's Electrical License.

I'm sure there may be other methods, but there is no short-cut. The reason your State is mandating that qualified electricians do the work is more than likely because of a high incidence of consumer complaints and/or shoddy workmanship.

Last edited:

RyanA

I guess this is what I'm after.

Effective July 1, 2011 ? NABCEP (National American Board of Certified Energy Practitioners) certification (or equivalent) is required: electrical work related to PV installations, the installation of PV modules, and the installation of PV module mounting equipment is subject to on-site supervision by a Certified Photovoltaic Energy Practitioner as designated by NABCEP or other nationally recognized professional organization designated by the Colorado State Electrical Board.

I am already a licensed Journeyman.

tallgirl

Occupation
Controls Systems firmware engineer