Solar system sizing and buying

Status
Not open for further replies.

Davebones

I am interested in installing a grid tied solar system . I have a 200 amp existing main panel and if I understand the code correctly I can only add 40 amp breaker inverter tie-in which limits me to roughly a 7600kw system . I would like to install this myself and feed into a sub-panel I have near my barn . I have never messed with solar as my background is in industrial electrical . Can you recommend where to get a system , what type of panels , buy whole system together or components separately , rebates , warranty , anything to know before making a purchase. Planning to retire after the first of the year and want to make this a project to complete . Any advice from you guys & gals that do solar for a living would be appreciated ...

ggunn

PE (Electrical), NABCEP certified
Occupation
Consulting Electrical Engineer - Photovoltaic Systems
I am interested in installing a grid tied solar system . I have a 200 amp existing main panel and if I understand the code correctly I can only add 40 amp breaker inverter tie-in which limits me to roughly a 7600kw system . I would like to install this myself and feed into a sub-panel I have near my barn . I have never messed with solar as my background is in industrial electrical . Can you recommend where to get a system , what type of panels , buy whole system together or components separately , rebates , warranty , anything to know before making a purchase. Planning to retire after the first of the year and want to make this a project to complete . Any advice from you guys & gals that do solar for a living would be appreciated ...
If you really want to do the installation work yourself, I recommend contracting someone with PV system design experience to draw up the design for you. To start with, the 40A limit on 125% of maximum inverter current may or may not be a hard stop for you; there are code compliant ways around it.